BJP-led Rajasthan Govt Forms Sub-Comittee To Review 17 New Districts Created Under Congress’ Tenure

A cabinet subcommittee led by the Bharatiya Janata Party has been formed by the Rajasthan government to review the status of 17 districts and three newly formed divisions that were established during Ashok Gehlot’s previous Congress administration. The state’s Revenue andColonisation Department issued the order late on Wednesday night.

CM Bhajan Lal Sharma appointed the five-member sub-committee, which consists of Deputy CM Prem Chand Bairwa (convenor) and ministers Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore, Kanhaiyalal Meena, Suresh Rawat and Hemant Meena.

Based on the recommendations of a high-level committee, the government led by then CM Ashok Gehlot authorized the formation of 19 new districts and three new divisions in August 2023. Furthermore, the Congress administration said in October that Kuchaman City, Sujangarh and Malpura will be formed as new districts, bringing Rajasthan’s total number of districts to 53. Gehlot said that these choices were taken in response to popular demand and recommendations from a high-level panel and that the administration is committed to resolving future delimitation concerns accordingly.

The BJP won the assembly elections in Rajasthan and took power in December 2023. In the Rajasthan Legislative Assembly, the BJP won 115 out of 199 seats, and Bhajan Lal Sharma was named Chief Minister. On the other hand, the Congress won 69 seats.